I Must Have the Inari Tee Dress.

named-patterns-inari-tee-dress_linen-stripes
Inari Dress in Striped Linen by Closet Case Files

There have been many a morning when I have woken up, looked in the mirror at my navy blue white-striped sleep shirt, and asked myself, “Can’t I just wear this today?”  And then I hear a voice say, “Yes.  You sure can…if you want to look like a bag lady.”

On paper, I could totally wear my sleep shirt in public.  It is not form fitting.  It’s not revealing.  It is, literally, a long, v-neck, cotton tee shirt deemed sleepwear.  I have worn less to church.  Not really.

The truth is, at least once, I have probably worn my sleep shirt until about noon and then finally changed into something suitable for public consumption.  And let’s be honest, there are days when I don’t leave my house.  (It’s an easy thing to do as a stay-at-home mom in the dead of summer.)   And on those days, I could wear my sleep shirt all day long and no one would know.  That is, except for my little minion, who may one day rat me out.

“Daddy, mommy stayed in her pajamas all day today.”

The reality is, I will not allow myself to feel like a slouch.  Nowadays, getting dressed, styling my hair, and putting on makeup can be totally unnecessary, unless I want to feel like a total waste of a human being .  But take the same silhouette and change the fabric or texture and mama’s sleep shirt becomes a self-respect harnessing, chic, wearable dress.   I have known this to be true for awhile now but how to put this idea in action is where I have been at a loss. Until now.

I first spotted the Inari Tee Dress by Named on Closet Case Files.  Which, by the way, I am delighted to have discovered while trying to understand pants fitting adjustments.   Again, I am a fan of simple and I am enthralled by the idea of choosing a linen for my first dress.  This is what these two are made from.

linen-named-inari-tee-dress_triple-needle-stitch-neon-topstitching-8

named-inari-tee-dress-pattern-2

I completely get why she made this three times last year.  I will likely do the same exact thing. And I will definitely wear it past noon!  Bye bye bag lady!

“Bag lady you go’n hurt your back
Dragging all them bags like that
I guess nobody ever told you
All you must hold onto, is you, is you, is you”

-Erykah Badu

Author: Rebecca

I am an engineer (formerly in oil and gas) and all around crafty gal. I am detailed oriented, analytical, and a tamed perfectionist. These traits have equally brought me success and grief. Oh, and I like to sew!

Leave a Reply

