A simple summer nightie.

The idea of sewing clothes for my kid did not interest me at all.  But like many makers, I imagine, I find myself making things I never thought I would.  Children grow out of clothes so quickly and I’m a bit picky about the projects that I take on because I have so little time to invest…especially with a newborn. (Yes, he’s here.  Finally!)

My son is darling but he’s also another reason to sew children’s clothes.  My postpartum body is not the ideal starting point.  It’s tricky to make a piece of clothing that I will fit into now and later when I’ve lost the baby weight (fingers crossed!)  Am I thinking too far ahead?  This is my current struggle with making my own clothes but that’s a whole ‘nother discussion…and one that I’m sure others have dealt with.  I digress.

So, back to this project…

My daughter has been described as “strong-willed”.

She refuses to wear anything other than a dress.  T-shirts? Nope.  Shorts? No way.  Skirt???!  No.  Her indignation has carried over into nightwear.  Forget about the traditional two-piece pajamas.  I’ve nearly lost an eye to a flung onesie.

Her resistance to normal sleepwear began with a Christmas nightie that I purchased from Target, made of fleece with that annoying Elf on the Shelf guy printed on it.  A dress she can wear to bed?  Yes, yes, yes.  She wanted to wear it every night, far into the new year and even as temperatures here started rising.  I didn’t get it and like many other toddler battles, I lost and let her wear it over and over again.

Eventually, I got tired of waking up to a red-faced, sweaty little girl so I set out to find a lighter version.  With no desire to shop around after a look around Target, I convinced myself that it might be fun to make one for her.  I found this free pattern for a Summer Nightie on the Sew Much Ado website.

_DSC0551

The pattern calls for knit fabric with 30-40% stretch.  This being nightwear and with consideration for my daughter’s predisposition to sweat like a pig, I chose to search for a cotton knit.  I found a few options on fabric.com and settled on these three.  The first and third are 100% cotton while the unicorn print was a 95%/5% cotton/lycra blend.  I used another cotton/lycra blend, a dark grey heather jersey knit, for the neckband and armholes.  I would definitely recommend the princess unicorn print as well as the floral print.  They were super soft and a good weight.

The pattern is one size which could have been a bummer because I did not want to grade it to a different size.  I used it as is and got lucky.  It fit her perfectly.  The instructions were very clear and I was able to whip them up fairly quickly with my serger.  I sewed one in the funky, colorful fabric to check the fit and then I sewed the remaining two exactly like the first.

_DSC0563

_DSC0566_DSC0572

I expect that they will be in rotation all summer and I hope they make it through.  My daughter loves them and I got some much-needed practice using my serger.  The best part was watching her, the excitement on her face as she twirled around in her new nightie.

_DSC0578

As for me, I’m on the search for patterns that will help me get through the summer as well as this body morphing miracle.  Fortunately, I see a lot of silhouettes in recent pattern releases that will work well and I’m excited to take on the challenge and get back to sewing my own clothes.

Author: Rebecca

I am an engineer (formerly in oil and gas) and all around crafty gal. I am detailed oriented, analytical, and a tamed perfectionist. These traits have equally brought me success and grief. Oh, and I like to sew!

Leave a Reply

